SharePoint 2013 PowerPivot Install Issue: “Please install SharePoint before you install PowerPivot for SharePoint”

I wanted to try out the latest stack of SharePoint software from Microsoft, so I downloaded:

  1. Windows Server 2012 Essentials (for Domain Controller)
  2. Windows Server 2012 Standard
  3. SQL Server 2012 Enterprise
  4. SharePoint Server 2013 Enterprise

I installed SharePoint Server 2013 first, and then Installed the PowerPivot SQL Server option. I soon discovered an error in that SQL Server was looking for SharePoint 2010 as an installation check:

Rule “SharePoint installation requirements for PowerPivot for SharePoint” failed.  SharePoint Server 2010 is not installed on this computer.  Please install SharePoint before you install PowerPivot for SharePoint”

  • Disclaimer:The following Registry hack will likely result in an UNSUPPORTED installation of Microsoft SharePoint 2013. I publish it solely for use in your development environment. If you need to install a Production environment, then I suggest waiting for a fix from Microsoft.

I found a way past this with help from @spjeff :

http://www.spjeff.com/2012/07/19/fixed-sharepoint-2013-rule-sharepoint-installation-requirements-for-powerpivot-for-sharepoint-failed/

However I still had an install issue:

Since @SPJeff was installing a preview version, I also had a look at Process Monitor from SysInternals and discovered:

So there were lots of prerequisites missing from my registry.

I went to an another server that had SharePoint 2010 Enterprise installed and exported the following keys:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Shared Tools\Web Server Extensions\14.0\WSS]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Shared Tools\Web Server Extensions\14.0\Secure]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Shared Tools\Web Server Extensions\14.0\WSS\InstalledProducts]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Shared Tools\Web Server Extensions\14.0\Secure\ConfigDB]

 

I the ran the REG files back on my SharePoint 2013 machine, and it all began to work:

The actual Registry files I used are embedded in the document below.

Use the following Registry files at your own risk.doc

(Please note that this fix probably doesn’t need all of these Registry entries, however I just grabbed everything to get around this quickly. You can probably delete after you have installed SharePoint 2013)

2 Responses to SharePoint 2013 PowerPivot Install Issue: “Please install SharePoint before you install PowerPivot for SharePoint”

  1. Fernando Lima says:

    Even tough I installed the registry keys, I’m not able to start Configuration Tool…

    • andrewwhitten says:

      Sorry to hear that. From what I am hearing it is rather unpredictable. If you are using VM’s then I’d suggest just starting again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

