Nokia Lumia 920 Observations

There is a ton of interest in the new Lumia 920, however thought I would add a few thoughts of my own.

In the past years I have gone from:

  1. HTC TYTN 2 (Windows Mobile 6.5)
  2. Apple iPhone 3
  3. Samsung Galaxy SII (Android ICS)

So I decided to jump back into the Microsoft ecosystem. Generally speaking this is a fantastic device, and the relativity heavy weight is not an issue for me. If you don’t like weight then consider a Samsung Galaxy SIII instead.

Missing apps:

  • Pleco : This is a really useful Chinese character / dictionary application for Android . No plans to release for Windows Phone.
  • Google Maps: Nokia Maps is for the most part comparable, however I’m surprised that Hong Kong station exits are not marked. (i.e. I can see there is an exit near my destination, however there is no way of knowing which letter it is) I could still use Google Maps through the web browser if I wanted though.

Apps with strange behavior:

  • SkyDrive: Great SkyDrive browsing, but no way to save the files onto my phone?
  • Nokia Maps: The incomplete subway exit markings (as above)
  • Twitter: Official app always scrolls to the top of your timeline, not from where you left off. (MetTweets is better)
  • FaceBook: Works, although noticeably less responsive than Andriod version
  • Lync 2010: Cannot join meetings. I’m not sure if this is a problem with my phone or my company’s Lync Server.

Good apps:

  • XBox Podcasts: I don’t have an XBox, however the Podcast facility is far better than ‘Google Listen’ for Android or iTunes for iPhone.
  • Outlook: Just integrates perfectly.
  • Skype: Far better experience than with the Android version. Experience for the other (PC) caller is improved greatly, although displayed screen shape is a little strange.
  • MetTweets: Best Twitter client I have found so far

Interface Issues:

  • URL bar too close to the Windows buttons: When typing a URL I often hit the Windows key by mistake. 
  • Switch between Wifi / 3G mode: I like to turn off my phone data plan when at home. The Lumia doesn’t have an easy way to do this, whereas even the iPhone 3 from 2007 has a quick way to turn on and off. I’m currently using an App called ‘Power Tool’ that makes this slightly easier.

Interface Strengths:

  • Bluetooth: This is the first device where Bluetooth has worked seamlessly for me. Even the Galaxy SII required a degree of persuasion to get my Bluetooth headsets to work. The Lumia 920 just works.
3 Responses to Nokia Lumia 920 Observations

  1. Brook says:

    Cheers for the insight. The choice for next mobile just became a little easier. Disappointed to hear about lack of MTR exit numbering. Apple Maps is the same. Google maps on mobile browser just not the same!

  2. Alvin Yong says:

    Any reviews on the recent releases of the Nokia Lumia series?

  3. andrewwhitten says:

    Recent phones look interesting, with the Lumia 925 a good if incremental release. The Lumia 1020 with its massive 42 megapixel camera is worth a look if that is important to you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

