Deleting the workspace of a departed user

A developer just left, and inadvertently left some files checked out. I took a deep breath, since I feared I would have to track each one down and remove the lock by hand.

However, this post showed me that you can just delete the user’s complete workspace with one simple command:

http://blogs.msdn.com/mrod/archive/2007/01/08/undoing-a-checkout-that-belongs-to-another-user.aspx

Note: This is only if you are really sure you want to delete that workspace!

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Deleting the workspace of a departed user

  1. You know, I really hope that VSTS Orcas/2008 is a lot better at this kind of stuff. It’s annoying how often I have to drop to a command line to do simple TFS administration tasks ( like stop a build ). Call me lazy, but the O/S is called *WINDOWS* and the tool is called *VISUAL STUDIO*.

  2. Answer: It will 🙂

    Do remember that TFS 2005 is still a first release product, and it is pretty good considering.

    TFS 2008 will address these issues. If you really hate the command line, then check out the ‘SideKick’ tools for free download:

    http://www.attrice.info/cm/tfs/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s