CamStudio vs Camtasia

I make a few IT related demos and presentations, and Camtasia has been my tool of choice. I record a 1024×764 movie of a Remote Terminal, synchronize my voice over afterwards and encode it as a WMV file.

A 10 minute file takes about 10MB of space, and the quality is great.

I was happy to see a free alternative called CamStudio, and I tried to do the same.. it was just as easy to use but the resulting AVI file was 150MB and there was no option to synchronize audio afterwards.

Using (the also free) Windows Media Encoder I got the file size down to 55MB as a WMV.

I’m sure I could get more compression out of it, but I just don’t have the time to work it out.

CamStudio is a fantastic effort and I’m sure they will match Camtasia for features sometime, but for now I’ll stick with Camtasia 🙂

Leave a Reply

